Meilleurs Ouvriers de France

Published on by Lea Carpentier - updated on

Full-fledged actors in the dynamics of innovation in optics, the Meilleurs Ouvriers de France (Best Workers of France) Eyeglass Craftsmen make their entry on SILMO Next. Bearers of a unique heritage and know-how, they are well placed to give opticians the keys to their future development. The return to craftsmanship, proximity and authenticity is more than ever a response to new consumer behaviours and future challenges.

Several members of the Meilleurs Ouvriers de France (Best Workers of France) Eyewear association met in their school in Morez to work collectively on the realization of a creative frame.
Rich in their different techniques, Xavier Christin, Alain Clerc, Charles Dagneaux, Bérengère Evain, Valérie Prillard and Philippe Puvilland shaped and decorated a frame with multiple materials (acetate, metals, wood, bone -sculpted with a file by Daniel Delabre- , mother-of-pearl, epoxy resin, dried flowers and lizard skin).

Discover their work 

The M.O.F. Lunetiers Eyeglass Craftsmanship School: a tailor-made transmission of eyewear know-how

The eyewear school of the Meilleurs Ouvriers de France trains in the creation of eyeglass frames for the realization of unique made-to-measure pieces or small series. From basic to advanced training, the principle of the training courses is based on the transmission of the experience of M.O.F. eyeglass craftsmen to the trainees; during the courses (one M.O.F. trainer for 3 trainees) but also by remote monitoring. Customized courses can be created for groups of opticians or optical and eyewear companies on selected themes.

MOF 3

The prototyping training workshop is in Morez, the historical center of the French eyewear industry. It is equipped to accommodate 6 trainees and as many equipment/machines per person. All disciplines are represented, creation by hand, machine, CAD / CNC / laser / 3D for a production of frames in acetate, metal, wood and horns, but also by courses of decoration, modification, adaptation and repair of eyeglass frames.

For foreign trainees, a specialized translator transcribes all the exchanges. The two basic modules (M1 + M2) can be taught during the same week.

Training modules are offered on demand according to the project and the level of competence:

  •  Eyewear design: the keys to create your collection
  • Measurements, design and shaping of a frame
  • Realization of prototypes of glasses cut out with the top of the eyeglass frame
  • Elaboration, shaping and assembly of a metal frame
  • Realization of frames in natural material
  • Create your own eyewear workshop
  • Computer-aided design and use of numerically controlled machines
  • Prototype realization of glasses in 3D printing
  • Dressing frames with the rigour of industrial production
  • Acetate Decoration and Metal Treatment
  • Enhancement

To watch: exclusive interviews of two Meilleurs Ouvriers de France for SILMO Next!

Bérengère Evain, Meilleur Ouvrier de France and eyewear craftsman, reminds us what a “spectacle maker” is and the added value that custom-made eyewear can bring in an optical store.

Watch her interview

Xavier Christin, Meilleur Ouvrier de France, eyewear designer and creator, discusses the importance of a good in-store repair, gives advice for inspiration and presents the support solutions offered by the M.O.F. Eyeglass Craftsmen school.

Watch his interview

Meilleurs Ouvriers de France

Publié le par Lea Carpentier - mis à jour le

Acteurs à part entière de la dynamique d’innovation de l’optique, les Meilleurs Ouvriers de France Lunetiers font leur entrée sur SILMO Next. Porteurs d’un héritage et d’un savoir-faire uniques, ils sont bien placés pour donner aux opticiens les clés de leur développement futur. Le retour à l’artisanat, à la proximité, et à l’authenticité répond plus que jamais aux nouveaux comportements de consommation et aux défis à venir.

Plusieurs membres de l’association des Meilleurs Ouvriers de France Lunetiers se sont retrouvés dans leur école à Morez pour travailler collectivement sur la réalisation d’une monture créative.
Riches de leurs différentes techniques, Xavier Christin, Alain Clerc, Charles Dagneaux, Bérengère Evain, Valérie Prillard et Philippe Puvilland ont façonné et décoré une monture avec de multiples matériaux (acétate, métaux, bois, os -sculpté à la lime par Daniel Delabre-, nacre, résine époxy, fleurs séchées et peau de lézard).

Découvrir leur travail 

L’école des M.O.F. Lunetiers : une transmission sur-mesure du savoir-faire en lunetterie

L’école de lunetterie des Meilleurs ouvriers de France forme à la création de monture de lunettes pour la réalisation de pièces uniques sur-mesure ou de petites séries. De la base au perfectionnement, le principe des formations est basé sur la transmission de l’expérience des M.O.F. lunetiers aux stagiaires ; lors des cours (un formateur M.O.F. pour 3 stagiaires) mais aussi par un suivi à distance. Des stages personnalisés peuvent être créés pour les groupements d’opticiens ou les entreprises d’optique et de lunetterie sur des thèmes sélectionnés.

MOF 3

L’atelier de formation au prototypage est à Morez, centre historique de la lunetterie française. Il est équipé pour accueillir 6 stagiaires et autant d’équipements/machines par personne. Toutes les disciplines sont représentées, création à la main, à la machine, en DAO / CNC / laser / 3D pour une production de montures en acétate, métal, bois et cornes, mais aussi par des stages de décoration, modification, adaptation et réparation de montures de lunettes.

Des modules de formation sont proposés à la carte selon le projet et le niveau de compétence :

  • Design lunetier : les clefs pour créer sa collection
  • Prises de mesure, élaboration du dessin et façonnage d’une monture
  • Réalisation de prototypes de lunettes découpés à la toupie de lunetier
  • Elaboration, façonnage et assemblage d’une monture en métal
  • Réalisation de monture en matière naturelle
  • Créer son atelier de Lunetterie
  • Dessin assisté par ordinateur et utilisation de machines à commandes numériques
  • Réalisation de prototype de lunettes en impression 3D
  • Rhabiller des montures avec la rigueur de la production industrielle
  • Décoration Acétate et traitement Métal
  • Perfectionnement

À regarder : des interviews exclusives de deux Meilleurs Ouvriers de France pour SILMO Next !

Bérengère Evain, Meilleur Ouvrier de France et artisan lunetière rappelle ce qu’est un « lunetier » et la valeur ajoutée que peut apporter le sur-mesure dans un magasin d’optique.

Regarder son interview

Xavier Christin, Meilleur Ouvrier de France, concepteur et créateur lunetier évoque l’importance d’une bonne réparation en magasin, donne des conseils pour s’inspirer et présente les solutions d’accompagnement que propose l’école des M.O.F. Lunetiers.

Regarder son interview